Spring 2024

Whilst you are waking - a memory surfaces.

I marvel at you

The mists of sleep dressing your eyelids

As they move from deep somnambulance

To a dreamy semi-consciousness

The softened muscles, contours

The hills and valleys of your landscape

Your bare-chested forests, 

Uncoiling from winter to spring, taut, vibrating

From dormant brittleness to fluid movement.

I walk your brow with my fingers,

As your abeyant dreams, touched by a cautious sun

Allow a little smile to display itself like clouds of snowdrops

And drooping daffodils,  dressing the banks of a meandering

Riverbed, swollen, sluggish, powerful.

As you emerge from sleep, the weight of burdens

Sliding like silk-sheeted storms from your bed.

And the air is perfumed by your quickening breath

As birds rise, as clouds disperse, as grass quivers

And winds calm. Spring, sweeping hesitant,

Along the lanes and byways, a light touch,

A gentle presence pulling the earth into re-birth.


Whilst you are waking I gather myself in, 

Alert to the uncurling softness, the downy yawn

Surfacing, a blinking moment of awareness

Comforting like my warm palm against your rough cheek

Or a sweet, shy kiss. I hold this moment, knowing

That soon you will rise and wander away towards summer.


February, 2024